“He says, ‘Be Still and know that I am God…'” Psalm 46:10

Spring is upon us — New Beginnings — a New Blog for POP!

When the fragrant Red Bud trees burst forth their brilliant pink blossoms in Houston, I know that Spring is in the air, Robin Redbreasts will soon be seen hopping along. We know they are looking for precious items that will add comfort and security to the nest they are building for their young.

Leaving my home of Boulder, Colorado when my father passed away, was very traumatic. As a teenager, my life was torn apart, it seemed. Living with my Blog Photodear Aunt and Uncle and their family was indeed a blessing, but inside, my heart was filled with enormous grieving which made much of my surroundings at the time look bleak to me. While driving through the city with my Uncle one day, in the midst of our usual silence, he pointed out the trees that were blooming, among them, the Red Buds.

Many years have come and gone since those painful days and Red Buds still bring me deep joy, a sign of Spring. Do we always know what God is offering to us in the words and actions of our loved ones, especially, some of our loved ones who are more calculated with their words? My precious Aunt had many meaningful and lengthy offerings about Our Heavenly Father’s love for me even though I had lost both parents now. They were offerings full of Scripture, love and wisdom. Her hugs were frequent, warm and compassionate. And then there was my dear Uncle, whom I erroneously thought did not love me as much because his interactions with me were quieter, fewer words were shared.

My precious Aunt went to be with the Lord in Heaven a number of years ago and I miss her immediate joy and inclusiveness, her teachings and love for Jesus Christ. Now, moving through the fragile stages of dementia, my Uncle’s words come even more carefully – but precious indeed, they are to me.

Taken yesterday at Memorial Park in Houston, this photo of the Red Bud tree branch, dressed in its brilliant blooms will be sent to my Uncle in his skilled nursing facility. I pray it will remind him of many things. My deep gratitude for them caring for us children when his sister and my father passed away. Additionally, my deep gratitude for showing me Red Bud trees that day. Might his gentle offering have been Our Mighty God showing me the brilliance of His eternal love, His renewing hope, His steadfast provisions returning again and again?

There in the center of the photo is a bench. I envision being seated there with my Uncle as we admire the Red Bud blossoms in silence; words simply unnecessary. Beyond the bench is a lovely church with its steeple seemingly reaching up, touching the clouds with its wooden cross. How are we so blessed to have all these realities in our lives, helping us function, helping us find eternal hope?

A Beautiful, Glorious God, indeed.

May this Blog be an avenue for you to share from your spiritual journey as we look at God’s Hand in our lives and in this wonderful ministry.   I pray each of you sense God’s loving gaze upon your shoulders as we listen to others. May we be renewed by the fragrance and brilliance of the Red Buds.

Love, AnneMarie

Leave a comment